The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin

The truth is I read a lot of science-fiction as a teenager. Many of my favourite books are sci-fi books. Then at some point I convinced myself that all science fiction was trash. I’m not sure how that happened, but the why is I got snobby about reading. I was still watching every trashy sci-fi movie that came out. Vonnegut was the only exception.

But now I’m slowly seeing again that science fiction can be deep, thoughtful and important, like good science fiction should be, and has always been, allegorical, a dirty mirror held up to ourselves. I guess I forgot that, like with anything, there’s going to be bad and good sci-fi, and like with everything, much more bad than good.

I always thought Ursula Le Guin was one of the trashy sci-fi authors. Recently I found out that she actually has a lot to say about society, about politics and gender. I also read that she writes a lot about anarchism, real anarchism not anarchy or chaos, the same anarchism Noam Chomsky wrote about not the one Norm Society has brainwashed us all to fear. So I’m giving her a go. I’m happy to be wrong.

-Reading the Why

[End of Part Four]

Leave a comment