Seize the Day by Saul Bellow

I can’t decide what to read! I’m in one of those moods where I’m incapable of making decisions, even little, inconsequential ones. I just sit on the couch and ‘think’ which is actually just staring into space with my brain flicking from one thought to another, but engaging with none of them. The irony of finally picking up Seize the Day by Saul Bellow only occurred to me as I was writing this. In truth I just picked the smallest book in the stack. Absolute cop-out, I know.

Supposedly one of the great authors of modern times, certainly one of the great American authors, Bellow also comes highly recommended by the owner of the bookshop where I work. Also it will be a small act of atonement. I almost always finish what I’m reading, even when it’s Dan Brown-Dave Eggers bad, but I gave up on The Adventures of Augie March.(1) Though I still remember why I picked it up (it was because of the band), I just didn’t have the maturity and patience at that time. This was over 10 years ago and I was a different reader then.

-Reading the Why

(1) There have been only a handful of books that I never finished. Two of them are childish, adolescent books that I’m too ashamed to divulge. Then there was Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie, which was responsible for me giving up reading for many, regrettable, irredeemable years, and Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand which I was actually enjoying and never actually quit reading on as much as have not got around to finishing yet.(2)

(2) Ayn Rand’s philosophy is now used to justify so much cruelty (and not mistakenly; it’s likely what she would’ve wanted), that just in mentioning that I enjoyed the first part of the book I feel the obligation to myself if not to others to declare that I am not a subscriber to Randian Objectivism, quite the contrary.

Leave a Reply

