If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller by Italo Calvino

I have no idea anymore where I heard about Italo Calvino’s If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller, only that it’s been vaguely on my radar now for several years just waiting for the chance to swing into my orbit. I’ve come across it a few times in second-hand bookstores but always lacked the urgency to buy it or desire to own it. So finally, a couple of months ago, when I saw a friend from work reading it, I asked to borrow it when he was done. I remember the book was supposed to be another of those metafictional ‘masterpieces’, and the blurb seems to confirm that. I just hope, being on top of that a translation as well, it’s not too clever or obvious for its own good. Clever is tricky but can be good, obvious is bad. Yeah… I’m going to hate this, aren’t I?

-Reading the Why

Leave a Reply

