Jailbird by Kurt Vonnegut

I’m off to Barcelona tomorrow, the city of Gaudi! It will be my second time there, the first was with two friends back in 2000! I always said I’d go back when the Sagrada Familia was finished… It’s not, not even close. Eight of the 18 towers have been completed. When I was there 17 years ago, 8 of the 18 towers had been completed. They’ve made progress though. Back then they had no idea when the cathedral would be completed. Now they’re saying 2026.

Of course, none of this has anything to do with Vonnegut’s Jailbird, except it’s the book that I’ll be taking with me on the trip. I suppose Homage to Catalonia would have been more apt. I hadn’t planned this trip yet then. At least the cover of Jailbird is red. We can wait and see if any deeper cosmic alignment is revealed on the trip but from my standpoint, this side of causation: I don’t want to take the two books I borrowed from friends for fear of damaging them, it’s the lightest of the four remaining library books I’m yet to read, it comes chronologically before the other Vonnegut, and Vonnegut is a deserved counterpoint to Pynchon.

Sorry, that’s all the Why I have.

-Reading the Why

Leave a Reply

