Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal by Jeanette Winterson

Back when I was working at Hatchard’s bookshop in London, I asked all my friends there to give me a list of their top 5 must reads (plus a wildcard). I still have the lists. One of the girls S. listed books by Miranda July, Margaret Atwood and… wait, now that I think about it, Jeanette Winterson wasn’t actually on her list, though it should’ve been. So I guess I have no idea where I first came across her after all. Pity. Maybe this was all a ploy to tell you about making lists of your favourite books. My list at the time was:

1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
2. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
3. Catch-22 by Joseph Heller
4. About a Boy by Nick Hornby
5. Skinny Legs and All by Tom Robbins
Wildcard: The Complete Calvin & Hobbes by Bill Watterson

I’ve mentioned before that I don’t read enough female authors, there wasn’t a single one on my list! I want to, though, honest! So far, it just seems they don’t write the kind of books I like to read, and it’s not because my tastes are particularly ‘male’. I like stuff that is a bit different, a bit weird, a mix of comedy and philosophy. Winterson is like that, poetic and surreal, and I’m savouring every book of hers I can find. Please, if you know other female authors that I might like, let me know!

I’d also like to point out: three non-fictions in a row! I have NEVER read three non-fiction books in a row.

-Reading the Why

Leave a Reply

